Work at Home Forum - An online community of those who work from home.
Business Opportunities and Programs Reviews Work at Home Forum / Business Opportunities and Programs Reviews /

Better Rentals

Author Message
reap_rewards
Member


Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 12

# Posted: 8 Apr 2008 21:08
Reply 


Hello Everyone;

I would like to take this opportunity to write this post and give everyone the heads-up regarding the "Better Rentals" scam. I was recently a victim to this and would like to share it with you. I had a person by the name of Kevin Williams contact me via email regarding a positon for a "Real Estate Assistant". He found my resume on careerbuilder and sent me this job opportunity. The pitch was this; it is very costly for them to receive payments from customer in the US and so they needed representation from people here in the states to process "rental payments" for them. The company was based out of Germany. I though okay, that makes sense. NOT!

They offered $2,000 per month and 10% of all rents collected. It all sounded very good. He even provided a website to check them out. better-rentals.net. Shortly thereafter, he sent me an agreement to sign and fax/email back to him. A couple of days later I started to receive rental payments. Better yet I received 1 rental payment and the other was being held by paypal. Oh I forgot to mention, yes one of the requirements was that you had to have a paypal account. Anyways, the second payment was being held by paypal. After much deliberation regarding this payment, paypal concluded that the monies were transferred without the buyers authorization.

To make a long story short, the monies were unauthorized and sent back to the buyers. I emailed Kevin Williams several times without any response. In fact, I haven't heard from him since and it's been about 3 months. Of course I kept all correspondence regarding this situation and evidently this type of occurence isn't anything new to paypal. Anyways, I shortly received another email from a Kevin Williams (gmail account) on another opportunity. I deleted it.

__________________
get your ready made website template, logo & banners at http://www.infosystemplates.com
Reap Rewards for Life
http://atomicblog.reaprewards.net
http://forexenterprise.reaprewards.net
Casper
Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 223

# Posted: 9 Apr 2008 00:57
Reply 


I'm sorry too hear about your experience but I guess you have highlighted that there are still scams out their sucking people in, I just hope that this hasn't put you off getting a home based business as their are ethical companies out there that won't scam you & are ready too help you.

aplina
Member


Joined: 5 Nov 2007
Posts: 231

# Posted: 9 Apr 2008 02:48 · Edited by: aplina
Reply 


l think l got that type of e-mail. but l did delete it as l know better when it comes to those big sum of amake this or that a months.

Did you pay any money to them?

__________________
getagrip
Preferred Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 1275

# Posted: 9 Apr 2008 03:33
Reply 


You have to be really careful with anything that involves "distance". Scam artists seem to be very effective when they can get you to do something from a different country.

__________________

Your reply
Bold Style  Italic Style  Underlined Style  Image Link  URL Link     :) ;) :-( ... Disable smilies

» Username  » Password 
Only registered users can post here. Enter your login/password correctly before posting a message, or register here first.

Messages not conforming to the forum rules will not be approved or, deleted without any explanation.

 


Page loading time (secs): 0.032


Custom Search

RSS feed (?)
  Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google Add to My MSN  


Work from Home · Popular Pages · Submit an Article · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy
About Us · Contact Us

Sitemap: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10]

© 2004-2008 Work at Home Forum. All rights reserved.