Work at Home Forum - An online community of those who work from home.
General Advice Work at Home Forum / General Advice /

Is this a scam!

Author Message
janice
Forums Member
Joined: 10 Nov 2008
Posts: 33
#1 · Posted: 25 Feb 2009 20:39


I read a job posting on a popular website and

it was for a carrier. It involves receiving

packages from this company and then shipping

them USPS overseas with a pre-paid

tag/sticker paid by the company. I will

receive 5-15 packages a week and the

salary is $1,200 a month. I spoke to the

person by phone who had given me more

info by email and it had a company website.

CMG
Forums Member
Joined: 21 Feb 2009
Posts: 5
#2 · Posted: 25 Feb 2009 22:26


I would immediately be suspicious of this for several reasons.

1. Why can't they ship via usps themselves?
2. If they're sending you the packages, why didn't they just send it to the intended destination themselves?
3. The only logical reason for them shipping to you then having you resend the packages is to mask its original place of origin.

I would definitely check up on the company. Find out where they work out of. BBB, or based on it's overall suspicion, I might even drop a line to your local FBI office and see if it's something you could suffer any repercussions for should anything illegal cross your hands.

Overall, I'd say this whole thing sounds fishier than Sea World at feeding time.

__________________
mountainmom5
Gold Member
Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3056
#3 · Posted: 26 Feb 2009 00:20


I would definitely check them out. It sounds like the same kind of scam that will somehow deposit money into your account and then once you 'spend it' you discover it was of no value and you are the one left hanging with a horrible overdraft at your bank....

__________________
Newbie Shield
Gold Member
Joined: 22 Sep 2007
Posts: 2226
#4 · Posted: 26 Feb 2009 09:02


Hi Janice,

Based on your description of the biz op, it looks similar to a scam that I have seen a couple times before.

Those who played the role you are considering also got convicted of one or more crimes when the leaders got busted.

I wouldn't touch it.

~Newbie Shield~

janice
Forums Member
Joined: 10 Nov 2008
Posts: 33
#5 · Posted: 26 Feb 2009 17:40


Well I wouldn't give the company my personal

address/information and they did not ask, but

I will most likely be aware of this company.

VictoriaNTC
Silver Member
Joined: 12 Mar 2008
Posts: 755
#6 · Posted: 26 Feb 2009 17:59 · Edited by: VictoriaNTC


I would not do it in a millionyears!

There are many safe, legal ways to make money online.
I am so glad you are asking because you realize something is very wrong here with this company.
Victoria

WARRANTIES4LESS
Forums Member
Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 351
#7 · Posted: 26 Feb 2009 22:41


Scam all the way, stay away, this is common scam whereby fraudulent credit cards are used to order merchandise, they ship to you, you forward, you get burned for stolen merchandise.

Success to all,

__________________
pinkyparrot
Forums Member
Joined: 23 Feb 2009
Posts: 115
#8 · Posted: 28 Feb 2009 08:48


Janice,
What was the company website? I would like to go check them out and get some information on the owners of it.

__________________
janice
Forums Member
Joined: 10 Nov 2008
Posts: 33
#9 · Posted: 28 Feb 2009 11:24


They gave me http://cosco-us.cn

samda
Forums Member
Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 526
#10 · Posted: 28 Feb 2009 14:16 · Edited by: samda


I won't recommend it. The site looks clean and professional. But they have just started the website. I am not in a position to say that they are scam. But it is a risk you are taking. Some times it pays you off and sometimes it is the other way.

Just have a look at the whois details.

whois

All the best !
Sam

sotd86
Forums Member
Joined: 2 Mar 2009
Posts: 1
#11 · Posted: 2 Mar 2009 14:32


see Work From Home's archives of aug. 5, 2005 regarding expert-bid.com and you'll find out all you need to know. try pasting this addressing in your browser to take you there. www.expert-bid.com definitely a scam.

Your Reply
   :) ;) :-( ... Disable smilies

» Username  » Password 
Only registered users are allowed to post here. Please enter your login/password details upon posting a message, or sign up first.
Messages not conforming to the forum rules will not be approved or, deleted without any explanation.
Please do not post email addresses. If essential, obfuscate them (user [at] domain.com or something like that).
Please do not apply BOLD to entire post.
 


Page loading time (secs): 0.031

Custom Search
Member Ranking · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy · About Us · Contact Us · Support Us · Friends

© 2004-2011 Work at Home Forum. All rights reserved.