Ads by Google

Discussion in 'General Marketing' started by ernestwest, Jul 4, 2010.

1. ernestwest

ernestwest New Member

I am always seeing online 'ads by Google'.Are they free and exactly
    how do I place them?I am basically new to internet marketing and
    I need all the support and advice I can get.

2. gowriter

gowriter Member

Those "ads by google" is part of a program called Google Adsense. It's the opposite of Google's Adwords Advertising program.

You'll need to sign up for a free Adsense account, and you need to have some sort of blog or website where you can place those ads.

I recommend starting with Blogger.com. It's a free site that also happens to belong to Google.

Create a blog with a name related to the niche market you're trying to promote in.

Adsense ads are "contextual ads". This means they appear based on keywords that Google detects on your site.

There are advertisers like you and me that are, no kidding, bidding as high as $65 a click for certain keywords.

Google will split 68% of that with you. They just announced in May 2010 what the revenue share is. They never used to tell anybody.

However...

Getting people to click on those ads is not as easy as you think unless you plan ahead and plan well.

By the way, NEVER, EVER click on your own Adsense ads. Google will ban your account immediately. This is considered click fraud. You waste the advertiser's money without any intention to buy. Those people have no problem suing Google for carelessness.

First you need to write blog posts with your keywords in it, around 2 or three times. But you've got to choose keywords that get high traffic and low competition.

You also have to find out if people are actually clicking on ads for that keyword.

Google's keyword tool is not bad. It will give you generic information, but it won't tell you the strength of your competition.