Good Idea, what now?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by TeacherMama, Sep 16, 2010.

1. TeacherMama New Member

Hello, I am a teacher and have decided to take a leave from the classroom this year in order to have more time for my family. I'm looking for ways to make some extra cash and I think I have a really good idea. I have several Smart Board lessons created and even more ideas for new ones. I considered selling them on Teachers Pay Teachers, but after browsing around this forum I think my own website might be more profitable. However, I have no idea about going about this. There are many ways to download free lessons. Is it realistic to assume I could get teachers to pay for them? Is there a way to get paid for everyone that is downloaded? Any advice is greatly appreciated!
  2. mountainmom5 Gold Member

You have to do first things first.... and welcome by the way. [IMG]

Before you can really tell if teachers will download your stuff or not, you need to build a website that gets enough traffic so you can test it out.

A good friend of mine has a free Teachers resource website and has been considering placing ads on her website for a small fee. She gets a ton of traffic every day. You can check it out at extraworksheets dot com ( I can't give a clickable link in here )

She and I meet every Wed for coffee and to brainstorm for our websites and I know she has been thinking of letting others add buttons to her website advertising teacher stuff.

Good luck.[IMG]
  3. TeacherMama New Member

Hi, thanks for the reply! [IMG] Your friend's site is great! I'm one of those teachers who can spend hours browsing around such sites! So, is having a free site profitable? I'm sorry I am so clueless when it comes to this...[IMG]
  4. talfighel Silver Member