Help needed on affiliate links.

Discussion in 'Website Promotion' started by seg7575, Jan 18, 2009.

1. seg7575

seg7575 New Member

I am totally new to affiliate work.I need your help on how i can use text link on my site instead of the long affiliate link i was given.I will definately apprecite your concern to help me.

2. mountainmom5

mountainmom5 Gold Member

Do you know how to use html? Here is what you use to make text clickable and to hide your link

Place text here

Good luck![​IMG]

3. Vishal P. Rao

Vishal P. Rao Administrator Staff Member

Viola, I think he meant cloaking affiliate link.

Here's a simple technique:

Create a page called product.html and insert the following code:

Redirecting...

...and upload it to your website.

Where http://www.youraffiliatelink.com is your affiliate link. To send someone to your affiliate page, simply direct them to the exact url of where product.html is uploaded on your site.

Example: http://www.yourdomain.com/product.html

If product.html is uploaded to the root directory.

4. mountainmom5

mountainmom5 Gold Member

Thanks Vishal!

5. Matt Zenittini

Matt Zenittini Silver Member

My favorite way to cloak affiliate links is simply by purchasing a domain name =].

I use godaddy. All you need to do is buy a domain name and forward it to your affiliate link and enable masking. That way if you are promoting say a website that sells candy, you can create your own link like www.myspecialcandy.com or something. when you are really promoting candy.com/affiliatelink. The whole time they are on the website they will see myspecialcandy.com. until they click a link anyway =].

This is a good way to prevent affiliate theft too =].

Good luck!

6. seg7575

seg7575 New Member

Thanks so much for your prompt response.I will definately give it a try.

7. Homeboy

Homeboy New Member

Another tool you can use is http://www.tinyurl.com