HELP!: Planning to work at home

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by ankhaeru, Jul 24, 2016.

1. ankhaeru

ankhaeru New Member

Hi Guys!

I am new to this forum.

Actually I want to seek advice for working at home and this thread is going to be very, very long. I got several reasons why I want to work at home. First is I hate commuting in our country. A nearby district that use to be 30 minutes travel has turned into 1 and a half hour drive. Second, because of the first one, I am extremely fatigued and stressed as a result. Sleeping five hours a day is already a luxury for I travel more than four hours a day to get to my destination. Third, I am extremely introverted. I do not like dealing with so many people on a daily basis. I just want to work --- that's it! And lastly, as an artist I do want to spend more time on doing personal projects. I do not plan on making it my bread and butter but working in a brick and mortar office takes away all the fun in designing, so I wanted to just work for money, and then work on my personal projects unhampered by schedules and commuting time.

It is really difficult for a creative to work. In a physical office, you have to spend extended hours to finish a single design and then spend on necessities outside of your home just to keep you satiated throughout the day and I think that's counter intuitive: you work for money, to work for money. So, I've thought of planning to work in the comforts of my home. My internet is stable, and my PC is just alright.

I've tried to find work online but discovered that either the pay is too low --- even for third world standards, clients are too demanding for designers, and some recruitment websites are not allowed to show your identity and your client's. Which is a big disadvantage for me because I've been used to showcasing my portfolio which is usually under my name.