Help with Cold Call Letter

Discussion in 'General Marketing' started by desktop, Jan 23, 2011.

1. desktop

desktop New Member

A little background on me first - I'm a graphic illustrator. My specialty is creating character and branding solutions for personal and business enterprises. I have been doing this out of my home for about a year and a half now. Unfortunately business has died off and so I've drafted up a short email that I'm sending out to area businesses trying to drum up some potential clients. I'm not completely satisfied with the current letter so I wanted to share it here and see if I can get some help with it.

Hello,

My name is Doug Cloud. I found your web site while doing a Google search and I felt compelled to write to you. As a professional graphic illustrator I have a passion for creating character and personality. I was wondering if this is something you would like to explore for your own web site?

Achieving just the right look for your business is important, especially on the Internet. Whether you sell products, offer services, or just have useful content, you'd be surprised what a little personality can do for you. After all, your online presence is an extension of you and your company, so why not make it a memorable one?

I understand that everyone is struggling through these bad economic times and hiring someone to create design work may be a low priority right now, but rest assured my rates are very affordable and I also offer discounts for local area businesses. If you would be interested in discussing this further please let me know.

I thank you for taking the time to read this e-mail, and I look forward to hearing from you!

---- This was my previous letter ----

Dear [insert name],