How to pass on accidental success....

Discussion in 'Casual Chat' started by kvorak, Mar 9, 2010.

1. kvorak

kvorak New Member

Hey Everybody,

First, I just signed up on this forum after having browsed it for a while, and once I join a community, I like to say hi. So hi [​IMG].

I joined here because I have a peculiar problem. I work from home already. Perhaps there are a lot of people here that are doing that, but I just kinda stumbled into it.... Now my wife sees how much I love this job, and she wants in on the fun, but she doesn't have the technical skills to do what I am doing (I am a software developer, btw). So I was out trolling the internet tonight to see if there were any good opportunites out there that she could capitalize on so she could come home too. Unfortunately, I'm not having much success....

Would anybody mind confirming a few things for me? I've been all over the internet and I think I have discovered the following:

1) 95% of the offers out there for 'work at home' are scams. I know I've fallen for quite a few in my time. I am not sure if I'm really getting any better at recognizing them, or just becoming more paranoid, but either way, there seem to be more of them than there were a few years ago.

2) The offers out there that are valid either require a set of skills that most people may not readily have, or take a lot of time. By which I mean that the only way you are likely to replace your $40k/yr. "real" job salary online is to have a Master's degree, or uncommon skill set; surveys and data entry just don't pay like that. And the other alternatives, like E-book sales, blogs, or affiliate marketing, while mathematically feasable can take years to develop significant profit.