I messed up my website...

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization (SEO)' started by MikeSpike, Apr 27, 2010.

1. MikeSpike

MikeSpike New Member

Sorry I am a novice. I wish I'd learned more. My site used to show up in Google's organic results when someone searched "soda maker". I wasn't the top of the list. But at least I was ON the list.

Then about a month ago, I decided to do something to improve my position on the list. I edited my index.htm file on the fizzgiz dot com site. I had no idea what was about to happen. I didn't check my position right away because I thought it took a few days for search engines to pick up on it. My site hasn't shown up in the organic results for about a month now. I no longer have the previous code. I threw it away - overwriting it with my new "great idea"!

If anyone could offer some assistance. I would be eternally grateful. Here's a blurb from the top of my index.htm file...

2. Norma

Norma New Member

Hi Mike,

I can not help you much from technnical perspective. But as a SEO practioner I could say, move your title tag to the top before meta keyword. Reduce meta keyowrds, that's a husge list, might stink spammy. Keep meta keyword characters within 300.

The website looks simple but the coding is quite complicated why don't you go for plain CSS.

Use headers, h1 h2... h6 instead of

Wish u good luck
    Norma.

3. samda

samda Member

Oh Man, read this dude -> www.mattcutts.com/blog/keywords-meta-tag-in-web-search

No longer your long keyword tag will help remove. Remove all damn keywords and add only 5 or 6 good ones.

You have been slapped for doing keyword spamming (We call it technically)

Got it? PM me if you need assistance.

4. MikeSpike

MikeSpike New Member

Thanks 4 the 'heads up' on that issue.

5. MikeSpike

MikeSpike New Member

What does "PM me" mean? Does it mean "contact me in the PM rather than the AM"?

6. MikeSpike

MikeSpike New Member

Norma