Newbie Questions - FlexJobs.com General Inquiry

Discussion in 'Business Opportunities and Programs Reviews' started by Polymorphist, Mar 24, 2011.

1. Polymorphist

Polymorphist New Member

Hello All,

I just found this forum and i'm brand new to looking for part-time online jobs. I was wondering if anyone has any opinions about the site www.flexjobs.com - are they legitimate? They claim to screen-out scams. They have a lot of data-entry jobs, but after poking around on this site I see that the overall opinion of online data-entry jobs is that they are not very legitimate.

Since I'm new, some background about myself and why i'm here which will lead to my final question:

I'm a SQL Server programmer who specializes in SSRS report development. Since SQL Server is a Microsoft product and Microsoft is headquartered in Seattle where I live, this technology is pretty much all I know. I've poked around for project-based tech jobs but most require experience with open-source technologies such as MySQL, PHP, Java and/or general web design or application development. I'm not well-versed in web development (though I can do some, though mostly ASP.NET). So, this is the challenge that I'm having when searching for part-time or project-based technical work. Also, there really aren't many straight SSRS part-time or project jobs out there at all. Ideally, i'd like to find a company that needs help writing SQL queries or pulling data from their databases and providing views or reports.

To supplement my income, I've decided to look at other types of online jobs other than those in the technical arena - data-entry or customer service, etc. However, since I'm new to all of this, I was wondering if anyone had any opinions on what the most common types of online jobs are and with the most legitimate and reliable pay, etc.

Thanks!!

2. mountainmom5

mountainmom5 Gold Member