Online college

Discussion in 'Work at Home Moms' started by RockOnLily, Apr 18, 2008.

1. RockOnLily

RockOnLily New Member

Hi everyone, I am a single mother currently enrolled in an online college to get my associates of science in medical billing and coding. I hope to one day be able to do medical trascription from home but know that it will take some work to get there. I have never worked in the medical field before, all I have ever done is waitress, which I do not want to keep doing. Well I just wanted to introduce myself and if anyone has any advice for me I am all ears. Also is there anyone else who is going or has gone to an online college? What are you experiences? Thanks!!
  2. happywife

happywife Gold Member

Hi Star,

Welcome to the forum. It sounds like you have a sound plan mapped out for you. I haven't officially gone to an online 'college' but I have learned an awful online just the same.

Keep up the good work. There are some others here who do transcription and can probably help you know exactly what you can expect.

Blessings,
    Angie
  3. taberdude

taberdude New Member

Hi Star,

I went to school online using Kaplan. I received my AAS in paralegal studies. I found it to be better for me than traditional offline college. I tried 2 other offline colleges and just couldn't get into the setting. With Kaplan I was even able to make the Deans list with most of my classes and semesters.
    It can be tough to stay focused as I had 2 children at the time and was pregnant with my 3rd. I had her 2 weeks before I graduated.
    But just stay focused and you can succeed!

Deanna
  4. HiAchiever

HiAchiever New Member

Hi, and welcome.

I attended the University of Phoenix for an MBA program.

I can tell you that the class work was as thorough and intense as any college classes I ever attended "live". And I have a traditional MS in physics. So I can compare.