Possible Scam

Discussion in 'Business Opportunities and Programs Reviews' started by StuckInPA, Dec 18, 2006.

  1. StuckInPA

    StuckInPA New Member

    A couple of weeks ago while job searching online I received an email for a supposed legitimate opportunity,I have been online for years now and thought I knew how to tell a scam from something real but I suppose they're becoming more crafty now. Here's what it read:

    Dear Joseph ,

    I recently saw your resume online and feel you would be ideal for an immediate opening as a Site Moderator with our company. We are TooSpoiled.com, one of the most exciting website launches in the last few years.

    Joseph , if you are looking for a real opportunity and a real long-term career with an exciting cutting edge company, you may be the person we are looking for.

    TooSpoiled.com is a combination of a modeling and acting database and MySpace.com with much more. We offer Models and Actors the opportunity to gain international exposure, interface with the world's largest entertainment industry network, and make money through advertising.

    And, best of all, TooSpoiled allows Talent to earn money instantly. TooSpoiled allows each member to earn money by displaying ads on their portfolio page.

    Unlike many other sites in the entertainment industry, TooSpoiled is 100% free for Models and Actors to join.

    We are seeking a Site Moderator to monitor the content of the site and flag and/or remove any inappropriate postings. As a Site Moderator, you would also look to stop any members targeting minors on the site. The position is one that can be done from your home if you have a computer and an online connection. Your background makes you an ideal fit for the position. We offer our Site Moderators the following:

    Highly competitive salary.
    Full Medical, Dental, and Vision insurance benefits.
    Flexibility - you can work your own hours, just as long as you put in at least 40 hours each week.
    Opportunity for rapid advancement.
    Tuition Reimbursements.
    The person we are looking for is reliable, consistent, hard working, has solid writing skills, and pays attention to details.

    Joseph , if you feel the Site Moderator position is right for you visit the link below and fill out the online application. (If the link does not work in your e-mail, you may copy and paste the address in your browser.)


    Once I receive your online application, I will contact you within one to two business days.

    Bethany Reagan

    Now I responded to the ad and even received a confirmation email stating that my application would be forwarded to the appropriate parties. In the meantime there were some offers for 'continuing education' or online colleges. In thinking this may somehow be tied in with this company,I filled in one of the forms just to have something there. Well about the same day I was contacted by phone by this college,and have been since with similar opportunities. This obviously seems like another scam campaign to collect names and emails.
    What I don't understand is this company seemed very legitimate. Was it just another spam ad stealing company logos,and should I bother to report this somewhere?
  2. alexvig

    alexvig New Member

    sounds like a scam to me wehn its sounds to good to be true it usually is.
  3. malibumentor

    malibumentor New Member

    I think the site moderator job offer is BS and the offer is a way to collect demographic information about respondants. The web portal looks legit however... don't be surprised if your application is turned down and you are offered a position as an affiliate or "scout"...

    Its a little dodgey and misleading perhaps... bu not necessarily an outright scam.

    My opinion.

    CSGWAHM New Member

    I agree with malibumentor. They're trying to be pretty slick anymore. Sorry you're getting bombarded with calls, though, that's a real nuisance.
  5. Bucky

    Bucky New Member

    Yeah that sounds awful. I wish one of those too good to be true sites whould work out just for once[​IMG]
  6. MLSmith

    MLSmith New Member

    I usually find when people say "To Good To Be True" that it may be just an excuse to not take action

    I'm in no way saying that this is legitimate or not, however most people get so blinded by the scam world we live in they can't recognize an actual legitimate opportunity when it comes their way.

    It truly sucks that we live in a society where people have become so defensive to everything, they can't recognize opportunity in anything.

    In no way am I saying this about anyone here, I'm just saying that our society is messed up. It has put us all in a defensive stance, scared to get scammed by the next guy.

    Also, the people who run these scams are no better, they are the people who have turned our society upside down.

    Just my little rant, sorry I couldn't help you StuckInPA. However, I would do your due diligence and do some hard research on these people/website and figure it out.

    Your truly,

  7. malibumentor

    malibumentor New Member

    agree with MLSmith.

    My comment: stop chasing deals that promise something for nothing. Building a profitable business takes investment of capital, time and effort. It requires the cultivation of skill, patience and committment.

    Those looking for the easy quick buck are usually the losers and victims of scams. There are plenty of legit opportunities out there.

Share This Page