Properly marketing myself as a freelance designer

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by y3k_designs, Feb 9, 2010.

1. y3k_designs

y3k_designs New Member

Hey everyone,

So please allow me a few minutes to explain a bit about myself and the internal war that I've been waging against myself now for about a year or so....

Though I am an artist at heart and love what I do, I have been extremely interested and blinded by affiliate marketing and all the internet money-making opportunities out there today. I signed up to about 4 free sites in the last year that really in the end were a waste of time and wouldn't pay dividends unless I had a "downline" of like 2000 people! Problem with this is, I am really not passionate about selling other people's products and/or taking a year to build up an unstable business that statistically fails 95% of the time! I have come to terms that design is my passion and I want to make the absolute best of my skills.

Time to get inspired about what I am truly passionate about, and move on....

My freelance career began around college, as I began taking in odd jobs wherever I could find them! I began making a few independent movie posters, business cards, etc. After college I began to really get passionate about growing a legitimate business and molding my freelance into a profitable career. Problem was, the work was slow and payment was peanuts! I didn't know how to properly charge clients and sometimes got tangled up in 2-3 projects at once working for a lousy client who demanded countless revisions and paid poorly.

Over the last 2-3 years this slowly began to change....

I began to take my freelance more seriously and began to mold my skills into a more professional and organized business. I had a streak of jobs pour in last year for about 2-3 months and then it dried up almost overnight. I have since joined up a few freelance websites and entered design contests but began to get frustrated at my inability to take on steady jobs.