Who Can Advise a Unique Situation?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by IAmAdamIAm, Jun 19, 2007.

1. IAmAdamIAm

IAmAdamIAm New Member

Hello all,

After trolling these boards for a few days I finally got a login of my own because I was so fascinated with the concept of working at home. I'm looking for a little advice for my particular scenario. Here goes:

I am a recent college grad with a BFA in acting. I'm moving to NYC at the end of the week. The goal is to secure an income that will allow me to live in this most expensive city comfortably. (If not frugally.) To that end, I've signed on with a few temp agencies. Temping is conducive to the acting business because it allows the scheduling flexibility I need to audition on a regular basis. But temping alone will not provide the income I require, not to mention it's an unreliable gig.

I applied to West at Home and was told that they were not currently in need of agents in my area. (Which confused me, as my geographic location has little to do with such a job.) Although they did say they would keep my application on file. Would it be a good idea to call them and pursue the matter further? And what other companies could I apply to? (I am not opposed to data entry either.)

I should mention that I have previous experience with telemarketing. I used to work for MBNA America before it was bought out by Bank of America. I sold credit to unsuspecting victims.

One final question: I don't own a PC and don't have any experience with Vista. While I am proficient with Windows XP, I stopped using it 3 years ago in favor of Macintosh. I'll never go back. Never. Is this a major hindrance to working at home?

2. IAmAdamIAm

IAmAdamIAm New Member

I forgot to add that I'm not afraid to put in a lot of hard work and time.

3. Hi there
    I am very successful entrepreneur . I work out of my home and I have access to more than one opportunity.