Avoiding the Freshman 15: It's All About Proportions

Discussion in 'Diet and Nutrition' started by kimbobabilly, Feb 13, 2009.

1. kimbobabilly

kimbobabilly New Member

I'm a freshman in college and I've had my encounters with the infamous "freshman 15." I'm in my second semester of college and haven't gained a pound because I've learned to control what I eat. There are three places where poor college students (literally poor) go wrong: the cafeteria, the weekends, and sleep patterns. Any of these encounters has the potential to cause unwanted weight gain; however, they can also be innocent occurrences that you need not worry about. If the college student can learn to have good habits in these areas they will reduce their chances of facing the "freshman 15" You are about to embark on a brief guide towards starting good habits that apply to anyone-college students and work-a-holics alike.

The first step towards avoiding weight gain is to know how to behave in the cafeteria. When I first entered college I had the philosophy of "getting my money's worth." As a result, I overate in the cafeteria with the thought that i needed to eat that much to get my money's worth. Soon enough, my jeans got a little tighter and my philosophy changed instantly. Instead, I altered my philosophy to "Quality and Proportion". Every time I entered the cafeteria I grabbed one cereal bowl and filled it with whatever I wanted. With prior knowledge that the stomach is stretchable to approximately 2 fist sizes, one bowl of food per meal was more than enough. This may not seem like much, but by week two your stomach will have shrunk and adapted to the new proportion sizes. Plus, it's not like you have to put cereal in it. I've put chicken nuggets, french fries, and even pizza into my bowl--just only fill it once. My one bowl trick at meal time is the best tip I have for college students in the cafeteria. (Remember, I haven't gained a pound with this method).