Best book on meditation?

Discussion in 'Meditation' started by Vishal P. Rao, Sep 16, 2007.

1. Vishal P. Rao

Vishal P. Rao Administrator Staff Member

Care to share the best book you have read on meditation?

For me, the best book to date that explained the significance of meditation is "Awareness - The Key to Living in Balance" by Osho

Another great book by same author that lists various methods of meditations is "Meditation: The First and Last Freedom". The best thing I like about this book is that it is not limited to a single technique unlike most books. It gives plenty of freedom to explore and choose the right method for you.

2. RayvinAndRob

RayvinAndRob New Member

Hey there,

'I Am That - Talks With Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj,' discusses the practice of Nisarga Yoga, which I have been doing for nearly four years. Here's a tiny excerpt:

"The Nisarga Yoga, the 'natural' Yoga of Maharaj, is disconcertingly simple - the mind, which is all-becoming, must recognize and penetrate its own being, not as being this or that, here or there, then or now, but just timeless being."

Niz taught me to always return to the sense of being - the 'I Am.' It prompted me to ask, "What or who am I?" And I discovered exactly what I was supposed to discover: I am not the person I thought I was. That one sentence is much deeper than it appears here. Read it over again. It contains pretty much the entire philosophy behind advaita.

Any questions?

So, for me, the best book about meditation's true purpose is this.

Your friend,
    Rob Nyte

P.S. I love Osho. Thank You, Vishal, for opening this topic. It will be an interesting thread to follow.

P.S.S. Sorry I didn't stick to the topic. I know it's supposed to be about meditation. But I don't know of any specific technique for meditation other than the one I mentioned above - which really isn't a technique at all. It's more of a way of being.

James Eckburg likes this.
  3. Vishal P. Rao

Thanks for sharing the book Rob [​IMG]