Best Way to Learn How to Build Websites?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Hosting' started by jjandry03, Apr 19, 2007.

1. jjandry03

jjandry03 New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm a college student and love the idea of sitting at home in my free time and making money, instead of say, going to the bar. What is the best way to teach myself to build websites?

Thanks
  2. pcwork

pcwork New Member

Build your own website by referring to websites like W3schools, Webmonkey , you will get some practical experience.
  3. deuce23

deuce23 New Member

You could also try using premade templates and learn the codes to change it up to your liking. I use Joomla and it's great.
  4. webcomsystems

webcomsystems New Member

It's really not that difficult to learn HTML, most people could learn all the basics in a weekend.
    If you wanted to go further you could learn CSS.

http://www.w3schools.com/ is a great starting point.

David
    [Link removed - Admin]
  5. slenderdog

slenderdog New Member

6. happywife

happywife Gold Member

Believe it or not I have built a website of over 200 pages and I still don't really know how to do it. [​IMG] I do know how to do a bit of html now within the body of my pages, but the majority of it, I don't know (or care) how to do. Is that disgraceful?

My site is about chocolate candy, which I love, but I didn't know the first thing about web design, etc. I found a company that has all the software integrated to allow you to build an online business by following a step-by-step guide and downloading video tutorials. I love it. I just sit back and create the content.

If you build yourself a nice content based site, the traffic will automatically be generated by the search engines, saving you that headache, and you can just choose the types of methods you want to monetize the site (like Google Adsense, affiliate links, selling a service, selling hardgoods, referals and finders fees, to name a few).