Considering working from home but need advice

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by Euphoricsoul, Jan 30, 2013.

1. Euphoricsoul

Euphoricsoul New Member

Hello all, I'm Patrick. I am a retired Navy veteran, and until recently, had a great job with a defense contractor repairing ships. Unfortunately, I was laid off due to the budget cuts that many of you have seen in the news. I was pretty upset by this obviously, but decided it would be a good opportunity to finish my degree while earning unemployment. However, as it turns out, unemployment is practically nullified by my military pension, so it looks like I'll need to bring in some extra income for a few months to make ends meet until I finish my degree.

That's what brings me here. I'm looking to tap all of your collective wisdom on what would be the best fit for me in the work-from-home job community. I've done a few quick searches, but there is just so much to choose from, I'm not sure what is legitimate and what is a scam. I would like to be able to work from 15-20 hours a week while attending classes the rest of the time.

My background is Photography, Graphic Design and Journalism while in the military, and I've been a computer/internet nut since the mid-late 90's. I'm also very savvy with social media, but I don't have any formal training on web site design or development. I don't have any friends who work from home, so I'm hoping that one of you fine people will be able to lead me in the right direction. :)

Thanks for your time.
  2. Hi Patrick,

I'm sorry to hear about you loosing your job. It's difficult times for many with the current state of the economy. It is also very easy for many to fall victim to online scams. Now, there are many ways to make money online but always do your due diligence and research the opportunity inside and out before investing in it.