How do you know if Google has crawled your site?

Discussion in 'Website Promotion' started by wahl2008, Dec 16, 2008.

1. wahl2008 New Member

I'm a newb to the game.

How do you know if Google has crawled your site?

Is there a way to know when it has been crawled, ie. date?

Thanks for the help.
  2. matt7 New Member

You can go to google and type in yourwebsite.com. If it has been crawled it should show up first in the google results.

When it shows up in the google results, you will then see the link "Cached" next to your domain name. To see the last time that it was crawled click on the "Cached" link and you will see a date for the last time that Google crawled your page.
  3. wahl2008 New Member

Thanks for the info Matt!

Yeah, I guess it is as easy as that.

That answers some important questions [IMG]
  4. Newbie Shield Gold Member

Hi Philip,

Matt's suggestion does work.

If you can't find it the way Matt offered, you can use the site command as follows (whereas you would substitute yoursite with your actual site address):

site:yoursite.com

It'll yield all indexed pages of your site. There are zero spaces before and after the colon.

You can compare and see if you get different results.

You can also add a backslash with a sub directory path so that only the sub directories of a directory will show as follows:

Suppose you want to see the football sub directories and all pages within those directories on a site that discusses all types of sports. Type in site:allsports.com/football/.

That'll give you just the stuff about football on the allsports.com site. It works nicely as a filter for avoiding stuff you don't want to see.

You can use it on your site or on any site ;)

~Newbie Shield~
  5. pcwork New Member

You can check your webstats
  6. freedom08 Guest