I need advice and I need to pay rent.

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by Valhalla_Hollen, Nov 17, 2008.

1. Valhalla_Hollen New Member

Hi, I live in a city with few available jobs because it's a college city. Most positions are already taken. I work on ChaCha.com answering text message questions online, but recently, it's been too slow to make an income. I'm a college student who is very intelligent and I'm wondering what I can do to make an online income/living to pay my expenses. I have many creative interests, such as writing and art. (non-digital art.)

I'm basically asking, where are some good places to research, to start a job, and something that will get me on the road to making a steady income, something plausible.

I'd be more than grateful if anyone would help. After all, right now, I'm having a hard time making enough money to even feed myself, and sadly as a college student, rent comes first. What a world. Eventually I hope to market my art, but that'll come later.

Thanks sincerely,
    Ryan
  2. happywife Gold Member

Hi Ryan,

Welcome to the forum. It's a bit tough to get a steady income online in the beginning, like what you would get from an offline job. It's usually a case of a lot of work upfront before your income begins to build.

It's certainly worth it, but I'm not sure if you are in a position to do that since you seem to need money asap to keep food in your belly.

Since you enjoy writing, and seem to be well-spoken, you may be able to pick up some steady freelance writing from places like elance.com or getafreelancer.com.

Also, Amazon's Mechanical Turk is really simple to use and you don't have to go through the bidding process. You just complete the tasks (HIT's) that are listed and get paid the set amount offered. It's still not much, but if you're fairly quick and efficient you could write a few articles an hour for $3-$5 each which isn't too bad.