Me, and what I'm looking for

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by Kami A., Mar 4, 2014.

1. Kami A.

Kami A. New Member

I was going to answer this on my intro thread, but wanted more people to see it. Honestly, any advice is good advice. I've read some great advice here already, but this is what I'm actually looking for, so point me in the right direction, please.

I am basically a writer. I'm studying copywriting so I can write great squeeze pages. I can build a tolerably good website, with the help of a great site builder or content management system, but I'm more of a blogger. I'm sort of obsessed with templates, and make lists of features I like on all the best sites, and those I don't like. For instance, IMHO (not being a designer) NBC's new news site layout is HORRIFIC! Whoever designed that should get their license-to-design taken away. It is what I call "visual noise," and it gives me a headache.

I'm reading books on affiliate marketing, but a lot of it is old, since I can't afford a ton of new books right now. I downloaded everything free that Seth Godin has on his site (a lot is outdated, but lots of good basic knowledge there), and I can't even remember all the rest of the free books I downloaded. Every time a marketing "guru" offers something free, I download it, so I know most of the basics. I haunt free ebook sites and Amazon for free marketing books. I get about 10 newsletters from said gurus a month, and read and take notes. I find a lot of GREAT stuff in newsletters, so if anyone has a good newsletter, let me know and I'll sign up.