new guy looking for something to do

Discussion in 'Work at Home Dads' started by greg_wahf, Apr 19, 2010.

1. greg_wahf

greg_wahf New Member

I have a full time job as a consultant in the healthcare IT industry and I work from home exclusively unless I am traveling to a customer which is becoming a very rare occurrence these days. I sit in my office and spend a lot of time in front of a computer and on the phone but I also have a very flexible schedule and/or a lot of opportunities to multi-task. So, if I need to go mow my lawn or go watch one of my kids play sports, I can usually work it into my day. So, I've recently been thinking of how I might turn that into an opportunity to possibly make a few dollars on the side. I'm not very good at sales or making marketing contacts and though I have worked with computers in some form or fashion for my whole career, I know nothing about creating or hosting websites. And I have no capital to start any sort of traditional business.

But when I search the web for things to make money from home, I'm overwhelmed and am certain a good deal of what I find is some sort of scam or at least nowhere near as good as it seems. I've been an ebay user for many years but have never used it for any sort of profitable business but I'm at least familiar with the culture. I recently looked into maybe a drop shipping business via ebay but I get cold feet and never take that step.

I'm really just looking for things I can do in my spare time that might make a few bucks here and there. But it needs to be something that I have to put little or no money into upfront with not a lot of risk. I'm not looking to get rich from it but it would have to be enough money to be worth my time.

Any suggestions?

2. mountainmom5

mountainmom5 Gold Member

Yeah, don't try dropshipping on Ebay.. it is a good way to lose money.[​IMG]