New in town...

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by Kris Ten, Jul 16, 2011.

1. Kris Ten New Member

Hello all!

I am new to this work at home thing and I have have spent the last few hours on the forum browsing old topics; and I must say it has probably saved me money from jumping naively into some scams! So thank you for that. [IMG]

What I'm having trouble with, is I am looking for a job where I can just make some money on the side. I am not looking to start my own business or anything like that, I just want to find something I can do in my free time to make some extra money.

At first I was drawn to the data entry section because this seems to be the kind of thing I am interested and all the affiliate marketing ideas seem to be related to starting your own business. I wouldn't mind doing an hour so of something data entry related every day just to get some extra spending money. I'm really not looking to get rich or anything like that, just to make some extra money to cover my tuition in the fall.

I guess it all seems pretty overwhelming to me right now.

I was also looking into some transcribing, because I do have experience in that, but most of the good sites I've found have been for the US only, and I am located in Canada. I also don't have any special crazy typing skills (one asked for 80+wpm, I am probably around the 40+ wpm range), or medical training so these seemed miles out of my league.

Any suggestions for me would be greatly appreciated; maybe I could survive in affiliate marketing? It just seems pretty overwhelming, and I haven't really found any (non scam ones) that were for people like me with little experience. I mean I can manage a computer and know Word and Excel, but I'm lost when it comes to programing... I know some basic HTML from high school, but certainly not enough.