perks and drawbacks of working at home

Discussion in 'Work at Home Moms' started by karrydee, Oct 27, 2010.

1. karrydee

karrydee New Member

i've been a freelance online writer for 3 years now. i think it's great but a lot of times i get bored. i wonder if i should get back to working in an office, or is working at home really better?

what are the advantages and disadvantages of working at home in the internet?

thanks in advance for your replies

2. getagrip

getagrip Gold Member

Well, I think it depends. It might be healthy for you to go out there and get a job - it might break up the monotany of freelance writing. Also, there are benefits of a regular job like health insurance that you would have to pay extra for working at home. You could always try a regular job out for a while and if you don't like it, return to freelance writing - you could always do a little bit of freelance writing in your free time. I'd also look at how much money you will earn doing freelance writing vs returning to the workforce.

3. JackieM293

JackieM293 Member

Their are so many other (more interesting) sources of inspiration than the 9 till 5 environment.

I agree that working from home can get very lonely but personally I would take that over office politics, ego's and all of the other difficulties associated with the office environment any day.

How about seeking inspiration from your locale and attending talks, debates, networking events etc. So much more fun and flexible than a job!

J

4. catevanne

catevanne New Member

karrydee
    I also work as a writer at home, I love it, but need to make more money-that's the drawback-do you have any leads I could follow to get more jobs?
    One of the best things about home is working your own schedule and no one looking over your shoulder- but I get bored sometime too- especially cuz we live out in the country...but I still wouldn't go back to an office with all the games they play...

5. talfighel

talfighel Silver Member