So.. This is a pyramid scheme?

Discussion in 'Network/Multi-level Marketing' started by kailo, Apr 19, 2011.

1. kailo New Member

I'm not really good at answering that question when I bring up the MLM business opportunity to people in person. Usually, the people who join me are already familiar with MLM businesses.

How do you guys combat this?

I hate to use the "This is just like corporations.. you have CEO at the top, senior management, etc..." explanation.

Help me out!!
  2. Just2EZ Moderator

kailo: How do you guys combat this?
    Very good question, my answer is "Next".
    Anyone who thinks all MLMs are pyramid schemes will continue to think so.
    The chances of you changing their mind are slim and it is wasted energy.
    To combat that RTPR allows signing retail accounts not in the "business opportunity".
    Lead with the product not the opportunity, otherwise it is probably is a pyramid scheme.
    MLM is perceived as a pyramid scheme by about 87% of the population.
    99% of the time they are right, very few products produce more profit than upline commissions.
    Most "MLMs" are more concerned with recruiting than selling their product.
    The FTC guides are pretty clear that the focus should be on retail products sales.
    If your upline makes more in commission than you make in profit, beware.
    If the seller makes more than all the upline combined then it's a real business.

I don't know any magic words to change the perception of MLM.
  3. abdncwithlj New Member

I think "Next" is a very good answer to that.

Try marketing to people who are looking for what you're selling instead of trying to convince people that the opportunity you have is good.
    There are people looking for an opportunity online every single day.

They will just end up sapping your energy.

Good luck!

L
  4. ThinkBig New Member