Squidoo Monetizing With Amazon

Discussion in 'Squidoo' started by fatman, Jul 4, 2008.

1. fatman New Member

Hello everyone,
    I am fairly new to this whole internet marketing thing (I didn't even hear that term until about a month ago), but have tried hard to make some money with affiliate marketing. I now have about 7 different lenses, and the main focus of them is making a review page with affiliate links in them.

But lately I have been thinking about the popular ways I read about here to make money directly with Squidoo. I read in one of the lenses (#1 total, I believe) that if you have the Amazon ads on your page and somebody buys something through your link, you get 50% of that. Is this correct?

I am actually an affiliate at Amazon (though I haven't done anything with them yet) and they get about a 4% commission for each product sold. Should I use my Amazon affiliate links to try to get sales, or should I use the Amazon modules on Squidoo? If it is indeed 50% through the modules, that seems like the obvious way to go, but I want to double check my info first. Any advice would be appreciated.
  2. Newbie Shield Gold Member

Hi fatman,

Last I heard, the Amazon commissions were around 7%. They did just restructure but I'd be surprised if the commissions are as low as 4%. Who would want to be an Amazon affiliate if they were that low? Not me.

When using an Amazon module in Squidoo, you don't get 50% of the sale price, you get 50% of the commission. So, perhaps around 3.5%.

You are free to either use an Amazon module or your personal Amazon affiliate links.

I hope that helps you to decide which route to go.

~Newbie Shield~
  3. fatman New Member

Thanks for the quick reply, I was hoping you'd chime in since you seem to be the Squidoo authority here. I didn't think that I'd be getting 50% of the actual price paid, so this makes a lot more sense.