Web Design from home

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by conwyman, May 9, 2012.

1. conwyman

conwyman New Member

Hi
    I have been working as a Computer Engineer for ten years now and i have worked as a sub contractor The trouble with my work that it tends to dry up and so does my cash to live.
    I decided to enroll on a web design course to learn HTML.CS,Dreamweaver so i can mybe do websites at home
    Is this a good idea? I seem to pick up the codes ok but would it be best to take a qualfication
    Thanks

2. payment proof

payment proof Active Member

I think it is a good idea. Web design is one growing work at home field. But to be successful, you'd really need to put together some type of portfolio.

For example, I've gone to a number of web designer's sites. They have samples/screen caps of work that they've done for other sites, companies, etc.

Perhaps you could start by designing a few/several of your own sites and using those as examples to show people the type of work you can do.

Good luck. [​IMG]

3. Just2EZ

Just2EZ Moderator

It's a profitable home business and you don't need certifications to start.
    Start by getting yourself set up with a web hosting re-seller package.
    I started with a $99/yr package with unlimited domains for my own use.
    After creating a few sites for myself other people asked if I would do theirs.
    That was 18 years ago but it is no different today, in fact there is more demand.
    Local small business owners and artists are easy customers to get.
    Word of mouth can bring you more work than you can handle.
    I was taught to think of it as renting out cyber real estate.
    You can charge for the land, building, and maintenance.
    You can learn faster by doing it than by studying it.
    Self hosted WordPress sites work best for me.
    (because I can teach dummies to use them)

I would steer clear of proprietary programs like Dreamweaver.
    Why spend thousands for licenses you don't need to have.