What do you use to design your sites?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Hosting' started by jonathon, Mar 27, 2010.

1. jonathon

jonathon New Member

Just wondering what you guys and girls use to design your sites, software wise?
    Myself, being a graphic designer, I am a fan of Photoshop for the design then a simple slice and input to get it all up.

Jonathon
  2. carterstory

carterstory New Member

3. happywife

happywife Gold Member

I use basic templates in SBI for most of my sites and then customize them a bit with Firworks. I'm not very good at the design side of things.

I would probably enjoy design more if I had taken a class on the subject along the way. I learn easier by example than just fiddling around with it and trying to figure it out - which is what I basically had to do.

When I first started my first website, I stuck with one of the templates SBI already had available to choose from. I didn't customize the look and feel of it for almost a year. Design is nice, but I learned that it isn't essential for success.

The most important aspect of your site is that you are providing valuable content to your visitors; information they are looking for.
  4. A8ch

A8ch Gold Member

I usually hand code my sites from scratch using HTML and CSS. On the few occasions I've paid for custom design work, it's great to have the ability to tweak things if I so desire.

There is a product - Artisteer - that automates the process of creating unique website templates and great looking blog themes in just minutes. No design experience necessary and it's actually fun to use.

Hermas
  5. jonathon

jonathon New Member

Its remarkable just seeing the different programms/techniques people use.

Hermas,
    I have tried to learn coding myself but just found it to be too monotomous for what I enjoy doing, but would love to be able to just go into the code and tweak here or there depending on what I want to do.

Happywife,