What Goes Into a Good Blog Post?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by robinincarolina, Dec 14, 2015 at 3:27 PM.

1. robinincarolina

robinincarolina Silver Member

I have been blogging for 7 years and have worked my way into blogging being my full time source of income. Well it's a full time income without the full time investment. I have evolved over the years and have come a long ways in the blogger world.

I hope to help some newbies out there with this discussion of what goes into a good blog post. A good blog post that makes money that is! Please chime in if you have something to add!

1. You do your research first. Find out if your topic is searched. Who is it searching it and how are they searching it? This is where your choice of keywords comes in. Go for buyer keywords when possible.

2. To monetize your posts, you find good affiliate products to support your topic. This can be digital products or physical products like on Amazon. The affiliate products must be relevant to your post.

3. Write good original quality content. Put some soul into it. A couple hundred words will not do. I strive for at the least 500, but go for more if possible.

4. Visual Appeal for easier reading.
    a. Keep paragraphs shorter. Long paragraphs are tough on the eye.
    b. Break up your content with subtitles. Preferably sub titles with your keywords included
    c. Break up your content with nice, clean captivating images.

5. Proper placement of affiliate links. A mix of contextual links and display links when applicable.

6. Optimizing your blog posts for the search engines. This is in the placement of your keywords in your content and subtitles. It needs to read naturally and not appear stuffed. You optimize your images as well as your textual content. Use those alt tags for your images, they matter.

7. Calls to action. I see many posts and the call to action is weak. All the traffic in the world does you no good if you don't convert it.