What helped or hindered you get a website online?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by CatherineK, Feb 19, 2013.

1. CatherineK

CatherineK Member

Hi. I'm doing research on a new project of mine. I want to create a guide for complete beginners starting up a website. Whether or not you already have a website, or are an offline business wanting to get online, a wanna be internet marketer, or hobby blogger etc, I'm hoping you can help me out.
    Your ideas and feedback will help me understand what difficulties people face when building their first website.

I really appreciate your time and input, even if you only answer some of the questions.

Even if you already have a website online, try to remember back. What issues you had, what problems you experienced in the beginning.

• What specific aspects when creating your website/blog, did you find difficult? e.g. technical, not adequate training, cost, time etc

• Did these difficulties stop you from getting a website online?

• What would your website be used for? e.g. small business, internet marketer, hobby blogger etc.

• Did you find it difficult to find quality, "all in one" complete training for beginners?

• Did you find it difficult to find affordable training without a monthly fee?

• Do or did you have problems understanding Search Engine Optimization?

• Would it be yourself, or your clients that could benefit from an affordable, step by step tutorial how to build a website from scratch?

• What type of training, or specifics would you like to see in a product showing beginners how to set up and build a website?
    Thanks again.
  2. Just2EZ

Just2EZ Moderator

If would be unfair to answer your questions since I started before guides, templates, or CMS.
    But remembering "WAY BACK" to when I started, fear was the main obstacle to overcome.

FEAR! That is the biggest obstacle newbies face.
    There is no lack of guides, the will to learn is lacking.