What to do when you can't get a job?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by Guns N Rachel, Jun 24, 2010.

1. Guns N Rachel New Member

I've been watching this site for some time, I just haven't posted before. I'm currently 18 years old, and I just moved out on my own with my boyfriend to the city where the college I go to is.

Basically, I can't get a job. I have applied everywhere from McDonald's to Taco Bell to even the scummiest cleaning jobs. I live in a very small town, and locals HATE college students. Having to put on all of my applications that I am from 900 miles away, and go to the local college, is like a huge black mark. I have been trying for a month and a half now, with not even a single call back. I go back to every place I apply 1 week later to check on my application, nothing.

So I am turning here, broke, hungry and tired of feeling useless. I'm new to all of this, I don't know how to make money online. I've done online surveys but have found that most don't pay out more than $5, although I am open to good survey sites if you all know any. I should also add that I am a web designer, although business is low (or should I say NONE!) where I'm at now.

I just need some help, and I would be so appreciative if anyone could give me any advice.
  2. talfighel Silver Member

Welcome to the forum. Keep looking and one good job will come your way.

When you do get a job, also look for a network marketing opportunity that you can get yourself into.

Tal
  3. mountainmom5 Gold Member

Welcome Rachel!

I know what you are feeling as I have an 18 year old daughter that moved about 800 miles away and she is having the exact same problems you are.

One suggestion I have to make a bit of fast cash if you have a camera and computer is to sell stuff on Ebay or Amazon.

Don't worry if you have never done either. It is really simple.[IMG]