Why Not Earn From Your Hobbies

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by HobbiesMann, Jan 31, 2009.

1. HobbiesMann New Member

I have been making money online since the middle of 2001 but not a lot and I also found it hard to come up with the great content that would help me earn more.

In the past couple of years, mostly through 2008, I started to blog about the hobbies I enjoy. I started with one but I didn't monetize it, just shared my experiences and after a few weeks I was getting traffic from the major search engines. After three months I had enough SE traffic that I decided to monetize my blog and started earning over night.

There was plenty of competition in the niche I was blogging about but I just localized my blog to where I live and my traffic increase and became more focused.

I wasn't sure that this wasn't just a freakin' coincidence so I started a second blog on the same topic with a slightly different focus and it did the same thing.

I also found writing about what I love isn't nearly as tough as writing for a few of the other sites I have that aren't hobbies.

Next I took one of my other hobbies and started another blog. I followed the same strategy of not monetizing until had a couple of hundred visitors a day and it took off as well.

Yes, I started a second blog on the same subject but this time I bought a keyworded domain name. That domain took has as much time to grow to the size of the first blog in that niche.

For the first blog in that niche I used an existing domain I had that was purchased as a make money online site but it never earned so I put it on the shelf.

So I have found and tested for more than a year now and the domains that are keyword in the domain do move through the search engines faster and I can make money online talking about my hobbies.

It's a lot more fun that when I was trying to make a living with topics that I had to struggle with.
  2. Newbie Shield Gold Member

Hi HobbiesMann,