Working at home is slowly killing me (here is why)

Discussion in 'Productivity and Motivation' started by StrugglineEnt, Apr 24, 2015 at 12:13 PM.

1. StrugglineEnt

StrugglineEnt New Member

Hi all,

I stumbled upon this forum by thinking it would be cool to find a group of people who work from home and see what some of their struggles and successes are.

I hate long forum posts but this will probably be one of those. I will provide a TL;DR at the bottom.

I am only 2 years out of college and my degree isn't one that usually works from home. But here I am.

My first job out of college was a typical 9-5, pushing papers, making sales calls, and general business related tasks.

I liked it, it paid the bills, and I was good at it. But I have this disease (startup disease)

For some reason I need to create my own business. The need stems from a couple reasons but the main one is to prove to myself I can do it and to develop a set of skills I can apply to any business to make myself valuable, therefore ensuring job security.

So, 6 months ago I was head hunted by a start up looking for someone with my skills. I jumped ship from my 9-5 and joined the start up with really little knowledge of the industry, what I would be doing, and little experience.

I got lucky.

The start up is awesome, the work style is laid back, my boss is super motivating and encouraging but yet I still struggle.

I have the tendency to fall into the category of a "shiny object" entrepreneur.

I am embarrassed with how many domains I own, and projects I have half assed.

My excuses are always, well if I was a better programmer I could... or if I had the money to do....or once I get FB ads running I will be able to....

But it never happens.

I will start to learn PHP, then try to make my own WordPress theme, then focus on conversion testing a landing page, then blog about all of these topics that I am inexperienced in and create weak blog posts.